Junior Scientist Center

sign in front of the junior scientist center
Sophie Tietze

Junior Scientist Center

Since August 2020, the Junior Scientist Center at the HTW Dresden has been offering three ESF junior research groups rooms for joint research. The aim of the joint research center is to bundle the new competencies in order to develop synergies. To provide the best possible support, the young scientists have rented work rooms far from the campus. This is intended to enable the young researchers to engage in interdisciplinary exchange, network formation, subject-related and personal development opportunities, lecture series and qualification agreements.

The Junior Scientist Center currently offers space for a total of 13 young researchers* from three successfully launched ESF junior research groups. In the long term, the Junior Scientist Center's services and capacities should be available to even more young researchers.

Current Research Groups at the Junior Scientist Center

Topic: Assessment and improvement of the resiliance of engineering structures against natural hazards

Project Manager: Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Jens Engel

Subproject Manager: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Bösche, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Holger Flederer, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Naumann, Prof. Dr. -Ing. habil. Reinhard Pohl (TUD), Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Wolf

Junior Scientists: Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Golz, M. Sc. Michael Grune, Dipl.-Ing. Moritz Mantel, Dipl--Ing. María José Toledo Arcic

Research Group IRIS


[Translate to English:] Gruppenbild der Nachwuchsforschergruppe IRIS
HTW Dresden / Peter Sebb

Topic: Occurrence and behaviour of microplastics in Saxon waters

Project Manager: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Grischek

Subproject Manager: Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Kathrin Harre, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Reinhard Bauer, Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Martin Socher

unior Scientists: M.Sc. Yasmin Adomat, Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Sven Faist, B.Sc. Lucas Kurzweg, M.Sc. Sven Schirrmeister

Research Group VEMIWA

[Translate to English:] Gruppenbild der Nachwuchsforschergruppe VEMIWA
HTW Dresden / Peter Sebb

Topic: Cell-based analysis in systems medicine

Project Manager: Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Anja Voß-Böhme, Prof. PD Dr.-Ing. Hans-Joachim Böhme,

Group Manager: Dr. rer. nat. Steffen Lange

Junior Scientists: M.Sc. Denis Hünniger, M.Sc. Sebastian Rühle, Philipp Roßbach, Florian Franke

Research Group DataMedAssist

[Translate to English:] Gruppenbild der Nachwuchsforschergruppe DataMedAssist
HTW Dresden / Peter Sebb


You can find the Junior Scientist Center of the HTW Dresden here:

Bergstraße 31

01069 Dresden

Logo Junior Scientist Center
logo EFRE


This might also be of interest to you