Die Gewinner des Nachwuchsforschungspreises 2022
HTW Dresden / Peter Sebb
The winners of the 2022 Young Scientists Award: Dr. Philipp Otter (l.) and Dr. Tim Kaiser
Created by Forschungskommunikation |

Young Scientists Award 2022: A new process secures drinking water supplies in rural developing regions

Civil engineer Dr. Philipp Otter and geoinformatician Dr. Tim Kaiser are this year's winners of the HTW Dresden Young Scientists Award. Philipp Otter received the first-place prize of 1,000 euros for his dissertation entitled "Solar-powered electrolytic oxidizer production for decentralized water treatment and its economic feasibility in developing regions".

The lack of disinfection of drinking water in rural developing regions is one of the greatest challenges for a safe drinking water supply. The use of chlorine as an effective disinfectant fails to a large extent due to a lack of functioning technical solutions for drinking water treatment. In his work, Mr. Otter developed a water treatment process that eliminates the error-prone delivery and dosing of chlorine solutions. In a solar-powered chlorine production system, all the water to be treated is passed through an electrolysis cell and the chlorine is formed from the water's natural chloride content. The water quality is permanently ensured.

With the presentation of his dissertation topic, the civil engineer convinced the jury not only in the first evaluation stage. His specially created explanatory film, which he presented as part of the Young Scientists Symposium, struck a chord with the audience with its concise content and emotional storytelling. "My sincere congratulations to the winner," congratulated Professor Göbel, Prorector Research and Transfer. "His work is a compelling example of applied research and a success for the transfer of science into practice." Philipp Otter earned his doctorate in a cooperative process with the Technical University of Dresden and the Faculty of Civil Engineering at HTW Dresden under the supervision of Professor Thomas Grischek.

Dr. Tim Kaiser qualified in second place with his doctorate on the topic of "Development of a procedure for coregistration of image lattices and point clouds with digital building models." This year, for the first time, this prize was endowed with 500 euros.

The geoinformatician also demonstrated a high qualitative standard with the presentation of his research work, which he also vividly illustrated with a short film. In his work, he explains how to create digital twins of buildings in a simplified way. Tim Kaiser earned his doctorate in a cooperative process with the Technical University and the Faculty of Geoinformation at HTW Dresden under the supervision of Professor Christian Clemen. 

The award ceremony took place for the eighth time at HTW Dresden. During the Dies Academicus on June 1, 2022, the winners were honored by Professor Salchert and Professor Göbel. Already in the morning, the two young researchers had answered the questions of the large and interested audience at the Young Scientists Symposium.

The Young Scientists Award at HTW Dresden

The Young Scientists Award honours outstanding achievements at HTW Dresden in the field of applied research. Researchers at HTW Dresden and ZAFT e.V. who have started a cooperative doctoral project or completed their doctorate no more than one year ago are eligible to apply. The jury consists of the members of the Senate Commission for Research of HTW Dresden.

Created by Forschungskommunikation |


M.A. Sophie Tietze

Research Coordinator

M.A. Sophie Tietze