Faculty of Mechanical Engineering

Academic self-administration at the university

The Professional Advisory Board supports the faculty in strategic issues and policy development.
It advises the respective study committees in the content development and improvement of courses and is involved in devising the study program concepts.

Chairman: Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Karsten Rudolph

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ingwer Ebinger (HAW Hamburg)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Hübner (HS Mittweida)
Dipl.-Ing. Uwe Kluge (SAENA GmbH)
Prof. Dr. Sven Kureti (TU Freiberg)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Kurt Rößner ((formerly) DEKRA)
Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Karsten Rudolph (Volkswagen AG)

Student member:
Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Timon Conrad (Hochschule Zittau/Görlitz)

Professional advice (Master's programme "Applied Robotics"):
M.Sc. Martin Däumler (FABMATICS GmbH)

The Student Council, short FSR, (§§24-27 SächsHSFG) is an institution of the student body. The student body is involved in the self-administration of the university according to the law and the university regulations. The Student Council of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering runs its own website.

The Faculty Council (§88 SächsHSFG) is responsible for all matters of the Faculty of fundamental importance. He may appoint commissions and commissioners to prepare his decisions. The discussions of the Faculty Council usually take place in public.

Chairman: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gunther Naumann


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gunther Naumann (Professor)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ines Hofinger (Professorin)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Uwe Kühsel (Professor)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Rosenbaum (Professor)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Iris Römhild (Professorin)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heiko Werdin (Professor)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Wittmer (Professor)
Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Raphael Borkert (Regular Staff)
Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Marco Steinhauser (Regular Staff)
Frau Sophie-Alexandra Lange (Student)
Herr Serwan Yücekaya (Student)

The Board of Examiners is appointed by the Faculty Council. Responsible for complying with the regulations of studies and examinations, the appointment of examiners, the approval of external examiners and the decision on contradictions.

Chairman: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Himmer

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Himmer (Professor)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Torsten Berg (Professor)
Prof. Dr.-Ing.  Eckehard Kullig (Professor)
Dr.-Ing. Peter Pfeiffer (Teaching Staff)
Mr. Hannes Vogel (Student)

The Study Commission (§91 SächsHSFG) is appointed by the Faculty Council in consultation with the competent Student Council. It advises the dean in the organization of the teaching and study enterprise. It is to be heard before the creation and modification of the study and the examination regulations.

Chairman: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Rosenbaum

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens Bolsius (Professor)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Lars Hannawald (Professor)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Rosenbaum (Professor)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gunther Stehr (Professor)
Ms. Julia Bernert (Student)
Mr. Fred Linge (Student)
Mr. Michael Walther (Student)
Mr. Benjamin Wolf (Student)